Whenever you connect to a Wi-Fi network, the operating system adds a network profile for the connection whilst saving the name of the network also known as the SSID, along with the network’s security details which include the relevant encryption or password. As a result of this action, your PC will automatically connect to the saved network whenever it's available, which in most cases is something you may not prefer. Other reasons that may make you feel the need to remove the Wi-Fi network may include the network list becoming too long and unmanageable, the Wi-Fi network being available at a one-off location like an airport or hotel where you’ll probably never need connect to again or the Wi-Fi password getting changed and therefore not allowing you to establish a connection.

In such scenarios, you might want to remove the unwanted network from your network list. In order to do this, you can “delete” or “forget” the network profile. Windows 10 has made the process of removal plain simple with the help of intuitive graphical user interface. Here’s a pretty simple guide that will prove helpful depending on whether the Wi-Fi network in question is in our out of your range.

Scenario 1: Wi-Fi network is in your range

If you’re within the range of the Wi-Fi network, the network name will be appearing in your network list. Simply click on the Wi-Fi icon from the system tray to open up the Wi-Fi pop-up. Right-click on the network you want to forget and then click on the “Forget” option.

Scenario 2: Wi-Fi network is out of your range

In case you’re not in the Wi-Fi network range, you’ll need to launch the “Settings” application. Then click on the “Network & Internet” option. In the next screen, you’ll see a menu on the left side of the screen.  Click on the Wi-Fi option followed by clicking the “Manage known networks” option. Once you’ve clicked “Manage known networks” option, you’ll be shown a list of Wi-Fi networks you’ve connected to till date. You can forget the network by clicking on the desired Wi-Fi network and then clicking on “Forget”.

Scenario 3: If you prefer to use the Command Line Prompt

To forget a Wi-Fi network using this option, run the command line prompt as an administrator. You can do this by launching the “Start” menu and search for command prompt. Then proceed to right click on the command prompt shortcut and click on the “Run as Administrator” option. You’ll be shown a black command prompt screen. Simply type in and run the following command: netsh wlan show profiles. Upon doing this, you’ll be presented with a list of Wi-Fi networks. Simply locate the name of the one you want to delete and replace the name in the following command and run it: netsh wlan delete profile name = ‘NAME OF WI-FI NETWORK YOU WANT TO DELETE”.

Final words

That’s it! You’ve now become a pro at deleting Wi-Fi networks that you don’t need anymore. As evident from this guide, Windows 10 had made deleting unwanted Wi-Fi networks super easy for its users. The three methods for forgetting a network are tried and tested and do the removal job easily and perfectly.

How to Forget or Delete a Saved Wi-Fi Network From Your PC in Windows 10
Tagged on:             

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*